Milwaukee County Labor Council AFL-CIO

May 25, 2016

Who We Are

MALC leaders and members regularly meet with elected officials to share issues and concerns.Here it was US Rep. Gwen Moore (back) with the MALC's top officers.

The Milwaukee Area Labor Council (MALC) combines the organizing and community power of some 52,000 dues-paying members of more than 140 Milwaukee area locals and parent unions, along with thousands more through its partnerships and alliances.

Created in the 1950s by the merger now known as the AFL-CIO (American Federation of Labor - Congress of Industrial Organizations), the Milwaukee council also contains as full-paying partners the Milwaukee members of other federations such as Change to Win. Unions outside these federations are active supporters as are community, retiree and religious groups. So are non-union participants through such AFL-CIO initiatives as Working America. The breadth of our membership recognizes the importance of solidarity for all workers. The MALC takes a leading role in charities, legislative work, politics and social action. Both our members and partnerships reflect that diversity and reach.

Our Leaders

The leaders of the MALC come right out of the working community. Each - secretary-treasurer, president and vice-president - came up through the ranks and front lines in their workforces before being nominated by their fellow workers for official roles, usually first within their locals and then on to four-year leadership positions at the MCLC. The nomination process is democracy in action. Delegates chosen by their own locals, lodges and councils cast votes representing the size of their membership. The same process applies to resolutions, political recommendations and other actions of the delegates, who meet monthly.


Sheila Cochran

Sheila Cochran
Chief Operating Officer/Secretary-Treasurer
United Auto Workers Local 438

Willie D. Ellis

Willie D. Ellis
International Union of Operating Engineers Local I39

Annie Wacker

Annie Wacker
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Local I954

Robin Lundgren

Robin Lundgren
Administrative Assistant

Executive Board

Richard Abelson
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees District Council 48
Lyle Balistreri
Milwaukee Building & Construction Trades Council
Ike Edwards
United Food and Commercial Workers Local 1473
Nacarci Feaster
International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers Lodge 1916
Dan Large
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 494
Larry L. Nunley
IAMAW, Lodge 1916
Daniel Panowitz
American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Local 33
Scott Parr
International Association of Machinists Lodge 2110
Candice Owley
Wisconsin Federation of Nurses and Health Professionals Local 5001
Anthony Rainey
United Auto Workers Local 469 (CBTU representative)
Scott J. Redman
Plumbers and Gas Fitters Local 75
Joy Roberts
Communications Workers of America Local 4603
Kenneth Roberts III
Graphics Communications Council/International Brotherhood of Teamsters Local 577M
Christine Vidmar
Workers United Local 122
Andy Voelzke
United Steel Workers Local 2-209 (REMOVE THE USW)
DiAnn Wagner
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local 2150 (APRI Representative)
Patrick R. Weyer
Brewery Workers Local 9 UAW
Ross M. Winklbauer, Sr.
United Steel Workers Local 2-232